Kirsten Mills

Administrators
  • Content count

    188
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    4

Kirsten Mills last won the day on July 3 2012

Kirsten Mills had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

6 Neutral

About Kirsten Mills

  • Rank
    Advanced Member

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  1. In an article posted by the American Society for Cell Biology, Jerri Barrett of the SENS Research Foundation discusses the “Imposter Syndrome” and how it may be halting career advancement. As stated in the article, the imposter syndrome can be defined as “a collection of feelings of inadequacy that persist even in the face of information that indicates that the opposite is true. It is experienced internally as chronic self-doubt, and feelings of intellectual fraudulence.” The ASBMR Women’s Committee wants to hear from you! Have you experienced imposter syndrome? If so, how have you handled that in the advancement of your career? Read the full article online and share your thoughts below.
  2. ASBMR is sad to announce the passing of honorary member Olav Bijvoet, M.D., an esteemed researcher who helped to lay the foundation of modern research in bone and mineral metabolism. As the first physician to treat the then untreatable Paget’s disease of bone with calcitonin, he recognized the potential of antiresorptive agents for treating bone disorders. He also discovered pamidronate, the first nitrogen-containing bisphosphonate (N-BP) and was the first to recognize the significance of the nitrogen atom present in the molecule of pamidronate for the potency and the different mechanism of action of N-BPs. Dr. Bijvoet actively promoted a multidisciplinary approach to research with specialists in the fields of endocrinology, nuclear medicine, oncology, radiology, pathology, rheumatology and urology. For his contribution to the care of patients with Paget’s disease, he received the first JB Johnson Award of the American Paget Foundation. He was also a co-founder of the Dutch Society for Calcium and Bone Metabolism and the first Editor of Clinical Research of Bone and Mineral, which later merged with Bone. Please feel free to share a kind note.
  3. The inaugural call of the ASBMR Long-Term Bisphosphonate Task Force will occur on Monday, December 2. Monday, December 2 10:00 am – 11:00 am Eastern 9:00 am – 10:00 am Central 7:00 am – 9:00 am Pacific 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm London 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm Beirut Dial-In Numbers: US: 888-430-5975 UK: 08082348432 Lebanon: 6366926904 Conference Code (for all): 250-692-4180# Agenda 1. Welcome and Introductions 2. Discussion of Task Force Charges – Attachment 1 Attachment 1 - TF Charges 11.18.13.docx 3. Task Force Members – Attachment 2 Attachment 2 - Task Force Roster 111313.docx 4. Need for Additional Expertise/Members? 5. Distribution of Duties 6. Timeline & Milestones · Dec 2, 2013 – Task Force Kick-Off Meeting · Feb 15, 2014 – First Draft Circulation · April 15, 2014 - Second Draft Circulation · May 15, 2014 - Third Draft to be Circulated and Finalized by June 1 · June 1, 2014 – Finalize Draft Sent to ASBMR Professional Practice Committee for Review · June 15, 2014 – Submission of Final Draft to JBMR · September 12, 2014 - Presentation of Task Force Report at ASBMR 2014 Annual Meeting 7. Other Items 8. Next Call Wednesday, December 18 11:30 am – 12:30 pm Eastern 10:30 am – 11:30 am Central 8:30 am – 9:30 am Pacific 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm London 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm Beirut
  4. It is with heavy hearts that we inform you of the passing of Dr. Phoebe Leboy, who passed away at her home in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA, on June 16th. Dr. Leboy was a Professor in the Department of Biochemistry at the School of Dental Medicine, University of Pennsylvania where she was an outstanding researcher, teacher and mentor. Her laboratory studied changes in gene expression associated with the formation and maintenance of skeletal tissue. Dr. Leboy served as President of American Women in Science (AWIS) and for more than 40 years she tirelessly advocated to ensure that women in the STEM fields are compensated fairly and without discrimination, are advanced equitably and without bias, are respected and recognized for their scientific achievements, are exposed to successful role models in leadership positions and are able to achieve their full potential. To honor her outstanding contributions to the mentoring of junior investigators, particularly women, the ASBMR recently created the Phoebe Leboy Professional Development Award. Dr. Leboy’s family has requested that any donations in memory of her be made to the Association of Women in Science. To share a message of support or a fond memory for her family to receive, please post them below.